Life Insurance Logo Imagelife insurance quote Logo

Resource Library

Financial Designations

Once you find an independent advisor you’re comfortable with, you may notice that there are letters after his or her name. These are designations that the advisor has received as a result of successfully completing insurance and financial-related courses.

What do the designations mean? Here is a list of some of the more common current designations you may see.

Certified Financial Planner, CFP™
The Certified Financial Planner (CFP™) designation is an internationally recognized standard for financial planning. It is granted by the Financial Planners Standards Council (FPSC). Individuals who meet FPSC's rigorous certification requirements in education, experience, examination and ethics are licensed to use the CFP trademarks on an annual basis. An advisor with a CFP may help you with personal financial planning and offer advice on investment products and strategies. There are currently more than 16,000 individuals in Canada who have earned this professional distinction and 90,000 around the world.

Chartered Life Underwriter, CLU
A Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU) is a financial advisor with advanced knowledge in life and health insurance and estate planning. An advisor with a CLU specializes in advice on life insurance needs, tax planning, planning your estate and may also offer assistance in financial planning for business owners.

Chartered Financial Consultant, CH.F.C.
A Chartered Financial Consultant (CH.F.C.) is a financial advisor with advanced knowledge in wealth accumulation and retirement planning. An advisor with a CH.F.C. is an expert in retirement planning and capital accumulation strategies.

Registered Health Underwriter, RHU
A Registered Health Underwriter (RHU) is an insurance advisor with advanced knowledge in disability insurance and health benefits. An advisor with an RHU has acquired the knowledge to offer advice on individual disability income insurance needs.

Registered Employee Benefits Consultant, REBC
An advisor with an REBC designation is versed in group insurance programs, planning for retirement, and employee benefits.
There are also a number of other industry designations, including:

Canadian Investment Management, CIM
Advisors with the CIM designation are trained to offer advice on structuring a stock portfolio. The designation is conferred by the Canadian Securities Institute and indicates successful completion of courses in investment management and portfolio management.

Certified General Accountant, CGA
Advisors with the CGA designation are members of the Certified General Accountants Association and have completed the CGA program which combines training in theoretical and analytical knowledge, together with practical work experience. They have extensive training in accounting, tax and financial management and are required to adhere to a code of conduct and a mandatory continuing education program.

Certified Management Accountant, CMA
Advisors with the CMA designation are strategic financial management professionals who combine accounting expertise and business acumen with professional management skills to provide leadership, innovation and an integrating perspective to organizational decision-making. The CMA designation in management accounting is granted and regulated by CMA Canada under the authorization of provincial legislation.

Certified Senior Advisor, CSA
This North American qualification attests to an advisor’s ability to provide answers on health, social and financial matters for the 50-plus population.

Chartered Accountant, CA
Advisors with the CA designation are trained to provide advice in accounting, auditing and tax planning. The CA program combines a

cademic study, professional education and practical working experience and ensures that students develop analytical, financial, accounting, communication and leadership skills.

Elder Planning Counselor, EPC ™
Plan your future with an Elder Planning Counselor. Take advantage of the wealth of knowledge designed by Canadians for Canadian professionals. If you are part of Canada’s largest, growing population segment, the 55-plus crowd, then you will profit by working with an EPC. These people know and understand the issues and alternatives that are important and unique to your senior life; respect your circumstances and confidentiality; provide guidance and assistance in financial, emotional, spiritual and health issues with your best interests in mind; create solutions that acknowledge your particular concerns and challenges; inconspicuously accommodate any age appropriate physical challenges and impairments that you may have to ensure that your needs are met.

Fellow of the Canadian Securities Institute, FCSI®
The FCSI designation is awarded by the Canadian Securities Institute to financial services professionals who have met exacting standards for industry experience, advanced education and solid endorsement from their peers and superiors.

Registered Financial Planner, R.F.P.
The R.F.P. designation is conferred by the Institute of Advanced Financial Planners and indicates expertise in financial planning. R.F.P.s must pass an exam and have a sample comprehensive financial plan pass peer review to earn the designation.


Financial Planners Standards Council
The Financial Advisors Association of Canada (Advocis)
The Institute for Advanced Financial Education
Chartered Financial Consultant
Registered Health Underwriter
Registered Financial Planner
Canadian Initiative for Elder Planning Studies
Life Office Management Association
International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans
Society of Certified Senior Advisors
Chartered Life Underwriter of Canada